

WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8th Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

Date:	January 17, 2019	
Chair:	John Wiesman, Department of Health	
Call to Order:	all to Order: 10:32 a.m.	
Adjourn:	12 Noon	

Agenda Item:	Approval of Meeting Minutes	3	Lead: All Commissioners	
Minutes to be approved: April 19, July 19, and October 18, 2018.				
Motion: Commissioner Siipola moved to approve the minutes of the April 19, July 19, and October 18, 2018, Commission meetings. Commissioner Johnson seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.				
1st: Commissioner S	Siipola	2 nd : Commission	ner Johnson	
Changes Needed: N/A				

Agenda Item:	Lead	d:	Wade Alonzo		
WTSC Grants Process					
Action/Motion: Described the new process for detailed strategic look at projects / activities.					

r J

Follow-Up: For the April Commission meeting:

- 1. WTSC staff will research the WTSC statute to determine whether the approval of grants is a staff function or a Commission function. If it is determined that approval of grants is a staff function, then the approval process may be delegated to staff.
- 2. WTSC staff will prepare briefing materials for Commissioners for review prior to the April meeting showing detailed information at the activity level so they may make an informed decision on which grants to approve.
- 3. Determine whether the approval process for the 2020 grant cycle needs to be delayed until June or early July 2019.

Lead: Wade Alonzo

Topics for Future Meetings	Proposed Date/Month	Lead
SECTOR/JINDEX Vendor	April 2019	Nadine Selene-Hait
Selection		
2020 Grant Process	April 2019	Wade Alonzo

Commission Meeting Date: January 17, 2019 Page 2

Meeting Attendees				
Commissioners:	Members of the Public/Other Agencies:			
John Wiesman, DOH	Therese Hansen			
Roger Millar, WSDOT	David Harrelson			
Teresa Berntsen, DOL	Bob Thompson			
George Steele, Judiciary	Wes Rethwill			
Rosemary Siipola, Cities	Rob Snaza			
Jim Johnson, Counties	Sarah Mariani			
Sonja Hallum, Governor's Office				
Commissioner Designees:				
Jeff Sass, WSP				
WTSC Staff:				
Darrin Grondel				
Mandie Dell				
Scott Waller				
Staci Hoff				
Wade Alonzo				
Shelly Baldwin				
Nadine Selene-Hait				
Edica Esqueda				