

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8th Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

Access Commission Meeting recordings at <u>https://wtsc.wa.gov/meetings/commission-meetings/</u>

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

Date:	July 18, 2019	
Chair:	John Wiesman, Department of Health (Darrin Grondel chaired until	
	Commissioner Wiesman arrived)	
Call to Order:	10 a.m.	
Adjourn:	12:03 p.m.	

Agenda Item:	Approval of Meeting Minut	es	Lead: All Commissioners		
Minutes to be approved: April 18, 2019					
Motion: Motion to approve the minutes of the April 18, 2019, Commission meeting.					
Motion passed unanimously.					
1st: Commissioner S	Siipola	2 nd : Commission	ner Steele		
Changes Needed: N	/A				

Agenda Item:	.05 BAC Information/Discussion	Lead: Shelly Baldwin			
Action/Motion: A work group will be formed to research the issue to consider for changing the DUI per se limit to .05 BAC.					
Follow-Up:					
Lead: Shelly Baldwin					
Agenda Item:	WSP Toxicology Lab	Lead: Dr. Fiona Couper			
Action: Commission agency legislative liaisons, as well as OFM Budget will work together to assist the WSP Toxicology Lab and support a decision package for appropriate funding for the Tox Lab.					
Follow-Up:					
Lead: Shelly Baldwin	1				

Agenda Item:	October Co Session	Commission Meeting Work		Lead: Dr. Fiona Couper				
Action: A work session will be held during the October 17, 2019, Commission meeting to look strategically at moving forward with emphasis on prescription medications, engaging other entities involved in this work, autonomous vehicles, and additional solutions and work on the horizon for traffic safety.								
October 17 meeting will start at 9:30 a.m.								
Follow-Up: Meet to	discuss plans	for and develop the	work session					
Tonow-op. Meet to	uiscuss plans	ior and develop the	work session					
Lead: Commissioner	s Wiesman, H	Berntsen, Millar, and	Darrin Gronde	21				
Topics for Future Me	eetings	Proposed Date/Mon	nth	Lead				
Commissioners:	Meeting Attendees Commissioners: Members of the Public:							
	ohimissioners. ohn Flanagan, Governor's Office		Neil Weaver, WSP					
Teresa Berntsen, Department of Licensing		Wes Rethwill, Lewis County Sheriff's Office						
Roger Millar, Department of Transportation		Rob Snaza, Lewis County Sheriff ' Office						
Rosemary Siipola, Association of Washington Cities		Julie Mitchell, Lakeside Milam Recovery Ctr.						
George Steele, Judiciary		John Nisbet, WSDOT						
John Wiesman, Department of Health		Fiona Couper, WSP Tox Lab						
Jim Johnson, Association of Washington Counties		Brianna Peterson, WSP Tox Lab						
¥		Sara Cooley Broschart, LCB						
Commissioner Designees:		Kathy Cody, OFM						
Sarah Mariani, Health Care Authority (phone)		Greg Fredericksen, NHTSA						
Jeff Sass, Washington State Patrol								
Patty Enbody, Superintendent of Public Instruction								
WTSC Staff:		Elliot DeLuca						
Darrin Grondel		Rainboe Sims Jones						
Pam Pannkuk		Shelly Baldwin						
Geri Nelson		Tommy Weed						
Edica Esqueda		Elliot DeLuca						
Angie Ward								
Mark Medalen								

This document, in conjunction with the recording of the meeting constitute the full minutes of the quarterly Washington Traffic Safety Commission meetings. Recordings can be found at the link above.