

#### STATE OF WASHINGTON

# WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8<sup>th</sup> Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

Access Commission Meeting recordings at <u>https://wtsc.wa.gov/meetings/commission-meetings/</u> This meeting recap, along with the recording linked above comprise the full minutes of the meeting.

# TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

Date:	April 16, 2020	
Chair:	Pam Pannkuk, WTSC Acting Director (on behalf of Commissioner	
	Wiesman)	
Call to Order:	10:02 a.m.	
Adjourn:	10:35 a.m.	

### The April 16, 2020, Washington Traffic Safety Commission quarterly meeting was held during the COVID-19 Pandemic. In accordance with Governor Inslee's <u>Proclamation 20-28</u>, this meeting was held remotely via Microsoft Teams meetings and was strictly limited to "matters necessary or routine."

Agenda Item:	Approval of Meeting Minutes	Lead: All Commissioners		
Minutes to be approved: October 17, 2019 and January 16, 2020				
Motion: Commissioner George Steele moved to approve the minutes for the October 17, 2019, and January 16, 2020, Commission meetings. The motion passed unanimously. (Commissioners voting: George Steele, Chief John Batiste, Teresa Berntsen, Sue Birch, John Flanagan, Jim Johnson.)				
Changes Needed:				

Agenda Item:	Approval of 2021 Highway Safety Plan	Lead: Wade Alonzo		
	Recommendation			
Action/Motion: Commissioner Sue Birch moved to approve the recommendations as presented. Teresa Berntsen seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. (Commissioners voting: George Steele, Chief John Batiste, Teresa Berntsen, Sue Birch, John Flanagan, Jim Johnson. Letters of approval were submitted in advance of the meeting by Roger Millar, WSDOT, and John Wiesman, DOH, and are attached here for information purposes only.)				

Commission Meeting April 16, 2020 Page 2

Meeting Attendees				
Commissioners:	Members of the Public:			
Sue Birch, Health Care Authority	Alison Mitchell, TZM			
John Flanagan, Governor's Office	Bob Thompson, Statewide LEL			
George Steele, Judiciary	Haiping Zhang, DOL			
Jim Johnson, Washington State Association of	Jennifer Harris, WA State Legislature			
Counties				
Chief John Batiste, Washington State Patrol	Ryan Peters, NHTSA			
Teresa Berntsen, Department of Licensing	Steve Crown, City of Wenatchee PD			
Commissioner Designees:	Hilary Torres, TZM			
Ron Vessey, WSDOT	Sara Cooley Broschart, LCB			
Jeff Sass, WSP	Susan Jacobsen, TZM			
Kristin Peterson, DOH	Ruben Hernandez, TZM			
Sarah Mariani, HCA	Nancy Walters, TZM			
	Marsha Masters, TZM			
WTSC Staff:	Dolly Fernandez, DOH			
Pam Pannkuk	Dianne Swanson, TZM			
Geri Nelson	Eveline Roy, TZM			
Mandie Dell				
Wade Alonzo				
Edica Esqueda				
Manny Gonzalez				
Geneva Hawkins				
Dawn Hernandez				
Staci Hoff				
Erika Mascorro				
Mark Medalen				
Jerry Noviello				
Scott Waller				
Rainboe Sims-Jones				
Erica Stineman				
Tommy Weed				
Terry Ponton				
Nadine Selene-Hait				
Peter Corier				
Debi Besser				



STATE OF WASHINGTON

# DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

*PO Box 47890* • *Olympia, Washington 98504-7890 Tel: 360-236-4030* • *711 Washington Relay Service* 

April 16, 2020

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission Post Office Box 40944 Olympia, Washington 98504-0944

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you today. I have commitments elsewhere that make it impossible for me to join you in approving the 2021 Highway Safety Plan.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2021 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need any further information, please contact Kristin Peterson, Assistant Secretary of Health Systems Quality Assurance, at <u>kristin.peterson@doh.wa.gov</u>. Thank you.

Sincerely,

John Wiesman, DrPH, MPH Secretary of Health

cc: Kristin Peterson, Department of Health



 Transportation Building

 310 Maple Park Avenue S.E.

 P.O. Box 47300

 Olympia, WA 98504-7300

 360-705-7000

 TTY: 1-800-833-6388

 www.wsdot.wa.gov

April 14, 2020

Traffic Safety Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission 621 8th Ave SE #409, Olympia, WA 98501

Dear Traffic Safety Commissioners

My apologies for not being with you today. I have commitments elsewhere that make it impossible for me to join you in approving the 2021 Highway Safety Plan. I do very much appreciate the effort put into developing the plan and its positive effects on traffic safety in Washington State.

I approve the 2021 Highway Safety Plan.

Sincerely,

Bm. mt. M.

Roger Millar, P.E., FASCE, FAICP Secretary of Transportation

RM:jd