Cooper Jones Active Transportation Safety Council Meeting

July 20, 2022, 10 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Virtual Meeting via Zoom

Link to join: <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87646047365</u>, or Call-in (audio only): 1-253-215-8782, enter Meeting ID No. 876 4604 7365

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by members and guests of the council are those of the speaker and do not necessarily reflect the views or positions of their employer or any additional entities they may represent.

Meeting Outcomes:

- 1. Decision on CJATS funding
- 2. Identify potential new members for ATSC
- 3. Review current ATSC Teams and launch new ATSC Teams

Agenda:

10-10:15	Intro and welcome, Jessie Knudsen, WTSC Program Manager
10-10.15	
	OPMA operations reminders, opinion disclaimer
	Welcome guests
	 Mention public comments made into minutes
	 Review and Approve minutes from June 2022 – <u>Vote Required</u>
10:15 – 10:30	Membership Updates, Jessie Knudsen, WTSC Program Manager
	 Katharine Miller, Walt Bowen stepping off
	Membership map and recruitment focus
	PEARS membership request
10:30 - 11:15	CJATS Funding, Jessie Knudsen
	DECISION – <u>Vote Required</u>
	Background: In June, ATSC discussed and advised doing the survey as
	described by Dr. Eisenberg, then using remaining money to help
	communities with infrastructure to apply for funding to fill those gaps.
	• 30 min presentation: Jessie K will present a budget that describes
	staffing the work, the research, and potential add-ons to the survey, as
	well as how many local plans could be developed, for a vote at today's
	meeting
	ATSC Committee Discussion
	Public Comment
	ATSC Vote
	Outcome: Vote on CJATS funding proposal

11:15 – 11:25	Bio Break
11:25 – 12:00	 Study Team Updates Closing out Reimagining Safety Sidewalks, Lighting, Crossings Update Hit & Run Update Second Semester Organizing: Behavioral Changes, St Policy Commitment, Speed
5 min	Public Comment, Jessie Knudsen
5 min	Closing and Next Steps, Pat Hughes

Committee Members: Alex Alston, WA Bikes; Shelly Baldwin, Washington Traffic Safety Commission; Max Cantu, Snohomish County Medical Examiner's Office; Barb Chamberlain, Active Transportation Division-WSDOT; Charlotte Claybrooke, Active Transportation-WSDOT; Chris Comeau, Bellingham City Planner; Josh Diekmann, Tacoma Transportation Engineer; Eric Edwards, Richland Police; Tony Gomez, King County; Abby Griffith, Disability Rights-WA; Reuben Hernandez, Target Zero SW WA; Will Hitchcock, DOH; David Jones; Jessie Knudsen, WTSC Program Manager; Venu Nemani, SDOT; Jon Pascal, Kirkland City Council; Dr. Amy Person, Benton-Franklin Health District; Portia Shields, Yakama Nation; Harold Taniguchi, Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs; Paul Taylor, Spokane Police; George Watland, Feet First; Kerri Wilson, Intercity Transit; Kirsten York, Community Action Councils of Lewis, Mason, and Thurston Counties; Anna Zivarts, Disability Mobility Initiative

WTSC Staff: Jessie Knudsen, Washington Traffic Safety Commission, Program Manager

Facilitator: Patricia Hughes, Trillium Leadership Consulting