



STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8th Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

Access Commission Meeting recordings at <u>https://wtsc.wa.gov/meetings/commission-meetings/</u> The meeting recording, along with the Action Item or Motion items documented below constitute the full minutes of the meeting.

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

Date:	April 21, 2022
Chair:	Teresa Berntsen, Department of Licensing
Call to Order:	10:00 a.m.
Adjourn:	11:46 a.m.

Agenda Item:Approval of Meeting MinutesLead: All CommissionersMinutes to be approved:April 15, 2021, July 15, 2021, October 21, 2021, and January 20, 2022.

Commissioners listed below verbally voted in favor to approve the minutes of the April 15, 2021, July 15, 2021, October 21, 2021, and January 20, 2022, meetings.

Roll Call: Debbie Driver, Teresa Berntsen, Sue Birch, George Steele, Brandi Peetz, Sam Low

Changes Needed:

Agenda Item:	Approval of Funding Package for 2023	Lead: Wade Alonzo, Program		
	Grants	Director		
Action/Motion: Commissioner Berntsen moved, and Commissioner Birch seconded the motion to				
approve the 2023 Grant Funding Package.				
A letter of approval was submitted in advance of the meeting by Commissioners Roger Millar, Chief John Batiste, and Dr. Umair Shah and are attached here for information purposes only.				
Roll Call: Debbie Driver; Teresa Berntsen; Sue Birch; Brandi Peetz; Sam Low				
Abstain: Judge George Steele				
Follow-Up:				

Lead:

Topics for Future Meetings	Proposed Date/Month	Lead
Discuss/find alternatives for the		Shelly Baldwin
Toxicology Lab to handle		
shortage of vials for DUI blood		
draws that is slowing down		
processing		

Commission Meeting April 21, 2022 Page 2

Meeting Attendees				
Commissioners:		Members of the Public:		
Teresa Berntsen (DOL)		Ryan Peters (NHTSA)		
Sue Birch (HCA)		Will Hitchcock (DOH)		
George Steele (Judiciary)		Sarah Mariani (HCA)		
Brandi Peetz (AWC)		Daniel Cooke (DOL)		
Sam Low (WA Association of Counties)		Frederick Wade (DOL)		
Debbie Driver (Governor's Office)		Haiping Zhang (DOL)		
		Eveline Roy (TZM)		
		Jesamie Peters (TZM)		
Commissioner Designees:		Rebecca Lis (TZM)		
Kristin Peterson (DOH)		Sheriff Drew Hyer (Garfield Co Sheriff)		
Dongho Chang (DOT)		Abigail Potter (WA Trucking)		
James Prouty (WSP)		Ryan Hirotaka (LEL)		
		Dana Quam (LEG)		
WTSC Staff:		Randy Tompkins		
Shelly Baldwin	Terry Ponton	Nancy Pullen-Seufert		
Pam Pannkuk	Max Roberts	Cesi Velez		
Mandie Dell	Bernie Shah			
Christina Fremont	Tammy Bahr			
Wade Alonzo	Mark Medalen			
Mark McKechnie	Edica Esqueda			
Rainboe Sims-Jones	Staci Hoff			
Debi Besser				
Peter Corier				
Erika Mascorro				
Erica Stineman				



STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PO Box 47890 • Olympia, Washington 98504-7890 Tel: 360-236-4030 • 711 Washington State Relay

April 21, 2022

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email: <u>Umair.shah@doh.wa.gov</u>

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan (PLAN). I have previous commitments that make it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact <u>Kristin Peterson @ Kristin.Peterson@doh.wa.gov</u>

Sincerely,

Altophayor.

Umair A. Shah; MD, MPH Secretary of Health Commissioner



 Transportation Building

 310 Maple Park Avenue S.E.

 P.O. Box 47300

 Olympia, WA 98504-7300

 360-705-7000

 TTY: 1-800-833-6388

 www.wsdot.wa.gov

April 21, 2022

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email: gneppannkuk@wtsc.wa.gov; rsims-jones@wtsc.wa.gov

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan (PLAN). I have a prior commitment that makes it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact Dongho Chang, WSDOT State Traffic Engineer, Director of Transportation Operations at <u>ChangDo@wsdot.wa.gov</u> or cell 206.651.5122

Sincerely,

Roger M, Millar, PE, FASCE, FAICP Secretary of Transportation

JAY INSLEE Governor



JOHN R. BATISTE Chief

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON STATE PATROL

Washington State Patrol Headquarters • PO Box 42600 • Olympia WA 98504-2600 • www.wsp.wa.gov

April 21, 2022

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email: rsims-jones@wtsc.wa.gov

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan. I have previous commitments that make it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2023 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact my Executive Assistant, Ms. Bridget Hamilton, at (360) 596-4102.

Sincerely, 1 St

CHIEF JOHN R. BATISTE

JRB:bkh