

TRAFFIC SAFETY LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

Mark McKechnie, Director, External Relations, WTSC

Washington Traffic Safety Commission Meeting January 19, 2023





NOVICE DRIVER EDUCATION (SB 5430)

- SB 5430 would create a scholarship fund for low-income novice drivers to be administered by the Department of Licensing, subject to the availability of funds appropriated for this purpose
- Only 45% of WA licensed drivers ages 16-25 had completed a driver education course during 2016-2020, according to DOL
- Drivers 18-25 who had not completed driver education had 70% higher involvement in injury/fatal crashes during 2016-2020



DRIVER RE-EXAMINATION (HB 1319/SB 5216)

- Updates the language in the Cooper Jones statute requiring law enforcement to report a driver suspected of causing serious bodily injury to another person to the Department of Licensing for re-examination of the driver's fitness
- Changes language to "substantially bodily harm" to be consistent with the vehicular assault statute, RCW 9A.04110(4)(b)



IMPAIRMENT/DUI BILLS

SB 5002

- Changes per se BAC limit for DUI
- Reduced from 0.08 to 0.05 percent
- Adjusts range for testing to be consistent with 0.05
- Modifies probation conditions to 0.05 limit

SB 5032

- Changes timeframe for felony treatment of 4th DUI
- Extends look-back from 10 to 15 years
- Establishes drug offender sentencing alternative for felony DUI

HB 1104

- Changes deferred prosecution options for misdemeanor DUI
- Currently one DP in a lifetime
- Would allow deferred prosecution on second offense if DP granted on first offense.



SB 5002: 0.05 BAC LIMIT

- Over 100 countries and the state of Utah have a per se BAC limit of 0.05 percent
- Utah saw significant decreases in fatal crashes (-19.8 percent), serious injury crashes (-10.8 percent), and all crashes (-9.6 percent) in the 12 months following the implementation of its 0.05 BAC law
- Utah also saw fewer incidences of crashes involving alcohol impairment across a range of BAC levels, from a 14.7 percent reduction of crashes involving drivers with a 0.05 BAC or above, to a 9.1 percent reduction in crashes involving drivers with a 0.15 BAC or higher.



OTHER IMPACTS OF 0.05 LAW IN UTAH

- 22.1% of drinkers reported changing their behaviors, such as using other transportation options instead of driving after drinking
- No sharp increase in arrests in first year
- Slight increase in arrests at 0.05-0.079 percent BAC
- The law change did not cause loss of revnues to the beverage and hospitality industries or tax revenues, as opponents predicted

(NHTSA study, 2022)



SPEED CAMERAS (SB 5272)

- WSDOT has requested the authority to use automated speed enforcement in highway work zones to encourage drivers to slow to posted work zone speeds and protect construction and maintenance workers
- Revenue above the costs to operate and administer the system would be dedicated to traffic safety education purposes



MOTORCYCLE LANE SPLITTING (HB 1063)

- Would allow motorcycles to overtake and pass another vehicle in the same lane
- Would allow motorcycle to operate between lanes, travelling no more than 35 mph or no more than 10 mph faster than traffic, whichever is less



Questions





Thank You

Mark McKechnie, WTSC mmckechnie@wtsc.wa.gov 360-360-725-9889

