Cooper Jones Active Transportation Safety Council March 19, 2025 10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Virtual: Microsoft Teams
Meeting ID: 277 354 274 853
Passcode: Qn9i6bK3

In-Person: WTSC Office 621 8th Ave. SE – Suite 409 Olympia, WA 98501

Dial in by phone

+1 564-999-2000,,751206335# United States, Olympia (833) 322-1218,,751206335# United States (Toll-free)

Phone conference ID: 751 206 335#

Once you arrive, use the doorbell on the pillar near the door to notify WTSC staff you are attending the meeting. They will direct you to the meeting location.

Purpose: The purpose of this meeting of the Cooper Jones Active Transportation Safety Council is to:

- Welcome new members
- Deliver updates and act on timely topics related to current session
- Discuss takeaways from the February Fatal Case Review
- Discuss telematics

Agenda:

10:30 – 10:45	Welcome – Shelly Baldwin, WTSC Acting Director and Pat Hughes, Facilitator Purpose and Agenda Introductions; Welcome new members Jesse Gilpatrick, Will Habel, William Lemke, Karen Messmer Affirm quorum Guests check in Approve Feb. 2025 minutes How ATSC makes recommendations
10:45 – 11:15	 Timely Legislative Items – WTSC Staff Report back on the three advocacy issues from February's meeting Legislative update Tox bill has died Young Driver Safety HB 1878
11:15 – 11:50	 Fatal Case Review – Christina Fremont, WTSC February 2025: City of Spokane / Spokane Valley Discussion: Areas to explore for possible recommendation process?
11:50 – 12:20	 Telematics Part II – Dr. Staci Hoff, WTSC Let's use our intentional process – patterns? Discussion: what's here re: data for learning?
12:20 – 12:30	Closing discussion • Announcements

 Actions

• Thank you!

Invited Council Members: Alan Adolf, Yakima Valley Conference of Governments; Alex Alston, WA Bikes; Shelly Baldwin, Washington Traffic Safety Commission Acting Director; Maximilian Cantu, Snohomish County Medical Examiner's Office; Barb Chamberlain, WSDOT Active Transportation Division; Charlotte Claybrooke, WSDOT Active Transportation Division; Dr. Xinyao de Grauw, Harborview Injury Prevention & Research Center, UW Medicine; Jennifer Dieguez, WA Dept. of Health; Dr. Annemarie Dooley, Washington Physicians for Social Responsibility; Eric Edwards, Richland Police Department; Sgt. Teresa Fuller, Spokane Police Department; Jesse Gilpatrick, Center for Independence; Tony Gomez, Seattle & King County Public Health; Will Habel, Clallam County; Cara Jockumsen, WA Dept. of Licensing; David Jones; Kitty Klitzke, City of Spokane; William Lemke, Retired Public Employees Council, Judge (Ret.); Karen Messmer, President – Olympia Safe Streets Campaign; Dr. Steve Mooney, UW Dept. of Epidemiology; Venu Nemani, Seattle Dept. of Transportation; Jon Pascal, Kirkland City Council; Weston Perkins-Clark, EMT/Safe Kids Coordinator; Dr. Amy Person, Benton-Franklin Health District; Portia Shields, Yakama Nation; Harold Taniguchi, Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs; Carrie Wilhelme, City of Tacoma; Kerri Wilson, Intercity Transit

ATSC Program Manager: Jessie Knudsen, Washington Traffic Safety Commission

ATSC Program Support: Abby Williams, Washington Traffic Safety Commission

ATSC External Facilitator: Patricia Hughes, Trillium Leadership Consulting