

## STATE OF WASHINGTON

## WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8th Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

Access Commission Meeting recordings at

https://wtsc.wa.gov/meetings/commission-meetings/ The meeting recording, along with the Action Item or Motion items documented below, constitute the full minutes of the meeting.

## TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

## **QUORUM PRESENT: YES** ⊠

NO L		
Date:	April 20, 2023	
Chair:	Brandi Peetz, Association of Washington Cities	
Call to Order:	10 a.m.	
Adjourn:	11:47 a.m.	

Agenda Item:	Approval of Meeting Minutes	Lead: All Commissioners
1 Bollaa Itollii	rippio (ui of fileeting filmates	Leaa. Thi commissioners

Minutes to be approved: The minutes of January 19, 2023, were approved as distributed.

Changes Needed: N/A

Agenda Item:	Approval of 2024 Highway Safety Plan	Lead: Wade Alonzo
Agenua nem.	Approval of 2024 Highway Safety Flan	Leau. Wate Alonzo

Motion: Commissioner Chief John Batiste moved, and Commissioner Sue Birch seconded a motion to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan. Letters of approval were submitted in advance of the meeting by Commissioners Millar, Shah, and Low and are attached to these minutes.

Roll Call: Chief Batiste, Sue Birch, Debbie Driver, Marcus Glasper, Brandi Peetz

Abstain: George Steele

Follow-Up: N/A

PUBLIC COMMENT Agenda Item: Lead: Abigail Potter, Director of safety and Compliance, Washington Trucking Association. WTA supported a Share the Road bill during legislative session that addressed large truck and bus education for drivers. The Bill passed unanimously in both the Senate and the House. WTA hopes this will improve highway safety. (See meeting recording beginning at 1:25:11.)

Topics for Future Meetings	Proposed Date/Month	Lead
DOH newly launched Transformational	TBD	Department of Health
Plan		

Commission Meeting April 20, 2023 Page 2

Meeting Attendees				
Commissioners:	Members of the Public:			
Brandi Peetz, AWC	Greg Fredericksen, NHTSA			
Marcus Glasper, DOL	Abigail Potter, WA Trucking Assoc.			
Sue Birch, HCA	Bob Thompson, Statewide LEL			
Chief John Batiste, WSP	Jaclyn Numata			
George Steele, Judiciary	Alex Schoening, NHTSA			
Debbie Driver, GOV	TVW Streaming			
Dr. Umair Shah, DOH	Gregory Foster, @CannObserv			
Commissioner Designees:	Cesi Velez			
Deborah Bell, Association of Counties	Jennifer Dieguez, DOH			
Dongho Chang, WSDOT	Doug Dahl			
Kristin Peterson, DOH	Marsha Masters			
Sarah Mariani, HCA	Dianne Swanson			
Patti Enbody, OSPI	Ryan Los, WSP			
Dan Atchison, WSP	Captain James Prouty, WSP			
WTSC Staff:	Gurman Kaur			
Shelly Baldwin	Ben Brennan			
Pam Pannkuk	Ryan Cox			
Geri Nelson	Mellani McAleenan			
Bernie Shah	Tiff West, OFM			
Mark McKechnie	Sara Wood			
Jessie Knudsen	Ruben Hernandez			
Mandie Dell	Jennifer Halverson-Kuehn			
Max Roberts	Evelyn Roy			
Mark Medalen	Marsha Moore			
Christina Fremont	Judge Karma Hawkins			
Anthony Bledsoe				
Terry Ponton				
Edica Esqueda				
Peter Corier				
Jerry Noviello				
Erica Stineman				
Debi Besser				
Penny Rarick				
Staci Hoff				



 Transportation Building

 310 Maple Park Avenue S.E.

 P.O. Box 47300

 Olympia, WA 98504-7300

 360-705-7000

 TTY: 1-800-833-6388

 www.wsdot.wa.gov

April 5, 2023

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email c/o <u>gnelson@wtsc.wa.gov</u>

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan. I have previous commitments that make it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact Dongho Chang at Dongho.chang@wsdot.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Zm. m. M.

Roger Millar, PE, FASCE, FAICP Secretary of Transportation

DC:mw

cc: Dongho Chang

April 20, 2023

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email c/o gnelson@wtsc.wa.gov

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan. I have previous commitments that make it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact Lois Scott at lois.scott@doh.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Umair A. Shah, MD, MPH Secretary of Health

April 20, 2023

Commissioners Washington Traffic Safety Commission PO Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944 Via email c/o gnelson@wtsc.wa.gov

Dear Commissioners:

My apologies for not being with you in person to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan. I have previous commitments that make it impossible for me to join you at the meeting today.

Please accept this letter as my vote to approve the 2024 Highway Safety Plan proposal. If you need further information, please contact me at <u>sam.low@snoco.org</u>.

Sincerely,

C. /

Sam Low Commissioner