Hello Parents!







Across Washington, most of us care about traffic safety.

Eighty-eight percent of us believe that we all share a responsibility for the safety of others and ourselves on our roads.





Most of us are making safe driving decisions, like wearing a seat belt. In our state, 93 percent of us wear a seat belt. That's a practice that we want to pass on to our kids now, so that when they're old enough to decide for themselves, they'll buckle up too.

Choosing the right method for buckling up your child is an important part of keeping them safe. Using the right seat can reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71%. Washington's child restraint law has some rules to help make the right choice:



Children up to age 2 must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat.



Children ages 2-4 must ride in a car seat with a harness (rear or forward facing).



Children 4 and older must ride in a car seat or booster seat until they are 4'9" tall.



Children over the height of 4'9" must be secured by a properly fitted seat belt (typically starting at 8-12 years old).



Installing a car seat can be tricky. Nearly 60% of car seats aren't installed correctly. If you'd like to make sure you have yours right, check with a local car seat technician. You can find a car seat tech or an inspection station near you by visiting:

wagarseats.com



