

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

621 8th Avenue SE, Suite 409, PO Box 40944, Olympia, Washington 98504-0944 (360) 725-9860

Access Commission Meeting recordings at

<u>https://wtsc.wa.gov/meetings/commission-meetings/</u> The meeting recording, along with the Action Item or Motion items documented below constitute the full minutes of the meeting.

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION QUARTERLY MEETING

QUORUM PRESENT: YES \Box

NO 🛛	
Date:	January 18, 2024
Chair:	Roger Millar, WSDOT
Call to Order:	10 a.m.
Adjourn:	11:50 a.m.

Agenda Item:	Approval of Meeting Minutes	Lead: All Commissioners
Minutes to be approv 2024.	red: Approval of the October 19, 2023, meeting	minutes was deferred to April 18,
Changes Needed:		

Agenda Item: Director's Report

Lead: Shelly Baldwin

In her Director's Report, Shelly Baldwin reported that the number of fatalities in 2023 was worse than the number of fatalities in 2022, and 2022 was the worst year for fatalities year since 1990. Shelly did not announce the agency's projected number of fatalities for 2023 because Governor Inslee is having a press conference later today and he will be announcing that number.

Follow-Up:.

Agenda Item:

Lead:

Lead: Shelly Baldwin

Action/Motion: Shelly Baldwin asked for volunteers to chair the April, July, and October 2024, meetings. Shelly will reach out to Commissioners.

Follow-Up: Dr. Shah volunteered for April, Debbie Driver volunteered for July, and Sam Low volunteered for October.

Lead: Shelly

Agenda Item:

Lead:

Written public comment from Carl Pedersen was shared during the meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Commission Meeting January 18, 2024 Page 2

Topics for Future Meetings	Proposed Date/Month	Lead

Meeting Attendees			
Commissioners:	Members of the Public:		
Roger Millar (WSDOT)	John Westerhold (NHTSA)		
Marcus Glasper (DOL)	Alex Schoening (NHTSA)		
Debbie Driver (GOV)	Dongho Chang (WSDOT)		
Sue Birch (HCA)	Haiping Zhang (DOL)		
Judge Steele, Judiciary	Frederick Wade (DOL)		
	Dan Cooke (DOL)		
	Courtney Stewart (WSP)		
Commissioner Designees:	Jennifer Dieguez (DOH)		
Patti Enbody (OSPI)	Joel Barnett (FHWA)		
Sarah Mariani (HCA)	Tiff West (OFM)		
Deborah Bell WA Association of Counties	Jesamie Peters (TZM)		
Todd Mountin DOH	Rachelle Nugent (TZM)		
WTSC Staff:	Sara Wood (TZM)		
Shelly Baldwin (WTSC)	Rebecca Lis (TZM)		
Pam Pannkuk (WTSC)	Bob Thompson (Statewide LEL)		
Geri Nelson (WTSC)	Cesi Velez (WA Child Pass. Safety Proj. Mgr.		
Bernie Shah (WTSC)	Jay Otto (CHSC)		
Wade Alonzo (WTSC)	Katie Dively (CHSC)		
Staci Hoff (WTSC)	Brian Chandler (DKS)		
Max Roberts (WTSC)	TVW Streaming		
Edica Esqueda (WTSC)	Abigail Potter		
Christina Fremont (WTSC)	Drew Swanner		
Penny Rarick (WTSC)	Brandi Peetz (AWC)		
Kayla McCown (WTSC)			
Janine Koffel (WTSC)			
Mandie Dell (WTSC)			
Megan Moore (WTSC)			
Mark Medalen (WTSC)			
Anthony Bledsoe (WTSC)			
Rainboe Sims-Jones (WTSC)			
Jerry Noviello (WTSC)			
Peter Corier (WTSC)			
Julie Otto (WTSC)			
Mark McKechnie (WTSC)			