Cooper Jones Active Transportation Safety Council March 20, 2024 10 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Virtual/Hybrid Meeting

Purpose: The purpose of this meeting of the ATSC is to hear several updates and give input on WTSC priority issue areas for 2025 and beyond.

Outcomes:

- Approval of January ATSC minutes
- Gain understanding of the Fatal Case Review observations on young drivers
- Receive updates about legislation, study teams, and ATSC processes
- Gain understanding of the Statewide Survey data

Summary Notes

1) Opening

- Affirm quorum (minimum of 11) with 16 members present
- Accept January 2024 minutes
- Congratulations to Barb Chamberlain, WTS Puget Sound 2024 Woman of the Year

2) Updates

- Cooper Jones Active Transportation Safety Council Charter language was updated to reflect the Safe System Approach
- September in-person meeting will take place Sept. 11, 9 a.m. 2 p.m. in Tacoma, concurrent with the Bike, Walk, Roll Summit Sept. 11-13
- State Bill Updates Mark McKechnie, WTSC External Relations
 - Overview available <u>here</u>
- A pilot for light meter use by law enforcement was funded by the WA state legislature with \$200K, based on a 2023 ATSC recommendation. WTSC will submit a spending plan, to spend by June 30, 2025.

3) Presentation of February 2024 Fatality Case Review: Young Drivers

- Overview available here
- **4) Presentation of WTSC Statewide Survey Data Presentation** by Jay Otto, Principal Scientist, Montana State University Center for Health and Safety Culture
 - Overview available here
- 5) Discussion on possible ideas for WTSC grants for 2025 and beyond.

APPROVED May 15, 2024

- Education and Enforcement are in scope (not infrastructure)
- Priority locations: Yakima County and South King County

Attending Committee Members: Shelly Baldwin, Washington Traffic Safety Commission; Barb Chamberlain, Active Transportation Division-WSDOT; Charlotte Claybrooke, Active Transportation-WSDOT; Chris Comeau, TranspoGroup, Inc.; Jennifer Dieguez, WA Dept of Health; Teresa Fuller, Spokane Police; Cara Jockumsen, WA DOL; David Jones; Kitty Klitzke, Spokane City Council; Venu Nemani, SDOT; Jon Pascal, Kirkland City Council; Dr. Amy Person, WA Dept of Health; Portia Shields, Yakama Nation; Harold Taniguchi, Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs; Carrie Wilhelme, Tacoma Public Works; Kerri Wilson, Intercity Transit.

ATSC Program Manager: Jessie Knudsen, WTSC

ATSC Program Support: Abby Williams, WTSC

ATSC Facilitator: Patricia Hughes, Trillium Leadership Consulting

WTSC Staff: Christina Fremont, Staci Hoff, Mark McKechnie

Guests:

• Ryan Packer, The Urbanist

- Amy Shaffer, WSDOT
- Sara Wood, Target Zero
- Jay Otto, guest speaker, MSU CHSC
- Sarah Ott